facebook twitter goodreads email
Joe Clifford
Clifford understands human potential for moral collapse and redemption...
Publishers Weekly on Lamentation
...gritty and addicting.
—LitReactor on December Boys
...character-driven noir at its finest.
—Author Jennifer Hillier on Give Up the Dead        
...a hard-bitten and hard-boiled loner who manages
to make you root for him and all the world's underdogs.

—Author Reed Farrel Coleman on Give Up the Dead
Clifford paints true-to-life characters with
the same gritty touch as the best of Dennis Lehane.

—Author Robert Dugoni on Lamentation
...the kind of wrenching, powerful work that defies easy categorization...
—Author Jerry Stahl on Lamentation

Coming July 13th
The Shadow People

Upcoming standalone

The Shadow People


A riveting, twisty psychological thriller from acclaimed author Joe Clifford, perfect for fans of The Whisper Man.

Brandon Cossey is finishing his last semester as an undergrad when he learns his childhood best friend, Jacob Balfour, has committed suicide. The news about Jacob, who had long battled schizophrenia, does not come as a surprise—but the bizarre details surrounding his death do. Jacob was found several states away, in a quarry, burned alive. Brandon returns to his hometown and discovers Jacob had been moonlighting as an amateur DIY reporter. As sole author and editor of the homemade zine Illuminations, Jacob has been covering a wide array of conspiracy theories. When Jacob's estranged grandfather, Francis, who also suffers from schizophrenia (but chooses to go untreated), arrives for the funeral, he tells Brandon that Jacob didn't kill himself; Jacob stumbled upon a secret so deadly he was murdered to keep it quiet...

Read more

BUY THE BOOK:
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million


Culprits: The Heist Was Just the Beginning

Recent Anthology

Culprits: The Heist Was Just the Beginning

Edited by Richard Brewer and Gary Phillips

Some stories are all about the crime. These stories are about the maelstrom of what happens after...

A hard-bitten crew of professional thieves pull off the score of their lives, coming away with seven million in cash. Like any heist there are some unforeseen complications, and unfortunately they don’t get away without a few bodies dropping. But despite this, they get away with the swag. Seven million. Enough to change their lives, make new identities, start fresh. But that’s when the real trouble begins...

Joe's story: "Eel Estevez" tells the border story of a career criminal who finds himself on the run, where he comes face to face with his past, testing the bonds of friendship, loyalty, and brothers.

BUY THE BOOK:
Amazon


 

Manafort Porter connection

The True Story Behind Jay Porter and the Manafort Brothers
Like the workers in Broken Ground, my father Neil was knowingly sent by [the Manafort Brothers] to die at a contaminated job site.

Read the article in Mystery Scene